Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Atlanta Immigration Lawyer > Dalton Temporary Protected Status Lawyer

Dalton Temporary Protected Status Lawyer

If your home country cannot guarantee your safety upon your return due to a natural disaster or political conflict, for example, you may be granted Temporary Protected Status (TPS), which allows you to remain in the United States as a foreign national, temporarily. To learn more about how to qualify for TPS, the Dalton temporary protected status lawyers at Shirazi Immigration Law, Inc. are here to answer your questions, act swiftly by filing your TEP application if you are eligible, and work towards permanent immigration.

Eligibility of TPS Depends on Your Nationality

Only foreign nationals of certain designated counties are eligible for TPS. This does include people without a nationality whose last lived in one of these designated countries. Other requirements, according to the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, include the following:

  • You must file during the “open initial registration or re-registration period,” unless you meet certain requirements that allow for late initial filing;
  • You must have been physically present in the U.S. since the most recent designation date of your country; and
  • You cannot have left the U.S. at any point during this time period. However, there may be exceptions for “brief, casual, and innocent” departures from the U.S.

People Who are Not Eligible for TPS

Even if you meet all of the above criteria, you will be denied TPS by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services if any of the following are true:

  • You have been convicted of a felony in the U.S.;
  • You have been convicted of two or more misdemeanors in the U.S.;
  • You have been found inadmissible as an immigrant under applicable grounds;
  • You are barred from asylum for reasons including: persecuting another person or engaging in terrorist activity;
  • You are granted TPS but you fail to re-register (when required to do so) without good cause.

Designated Countries

The United States currently provides TPS to 400,000 individuals, according to the National Immigration Forum. The vast majority are from Central America, though all of the following countries are on the designated TPS list:

  • Burma (Myanmar);
  • El Salvador;
  • Haiti;
  • Honduras;
  • Nepal;
  • Nicaragua;
  • Somalia;
  • Sudan;
  • South Sudan;
  • Syria;
  • Venezuela; and
  • Yemen.

Appealing a Denial

If your application for TPS is denied, you may be informed that you have a right to appeal. This appeal must take place within 30 days of the denial. If you do not have the right to appeal a denied case, you can still take action by requesting that the immigration judge adjudicate (make a decision about) your TPS application.

Call A Dalton Temporary Protected Status Lawyer

Temporary protected status is only given to people of certain countries, and only if they file during the correct time period and meet all of the necessary criteria. It is a complicated process, and your chances of success rise dramatically if you are legally represented by an attorney. Call the Dalton temporary protected status lawyers at the Shirazi Immigration Law, Inc. today at 404-523-3611 to schedule a consultation.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn